Dir. Krzysztof Kieslowski
(1991, R, 98 min)

Watching The Double Life of Veronique is like trying to read a map without a key. The audio commentary by Annette Insdorf – who authored Double Lives, Second Chances: The Cinema of Krzysztof Kieslowski and appeared in featurettes on each of the Three Colors DVDs – clarifies a few elusive story details, but mostly she clarifies my frustration, which makes me glad I watched the film again, because at least now I’m clear on something. Insdorf explains that Kieslowski didn’t consider himself an artist, because an artist provides answers and he provided questions. But Kieslowski, in playing with narrative form and thematic meaning, toys with and withholds from the audience in a way that becomes tiresome. He leaves us with questions: specifically, what did he make this film about? … Read the rest of my review at Culturazzi.org.

