After I posted my 299th blog entry last week, a review for the indie drama Urbania, I pondered how I would mark the occasion of my 300th post. For Filmic‘s first year I posted interesting reader stats. For my second anniversary I listed my twenty favorite films of the last decade. But what to do for my 300th post? More stats? Announce the 300 greatest something-or-other? I like making lists, but trying to come up with 300 of anything would waste your time and mine.

Finally I stopped over-thinking it and decided to mark the occasion simply by marking it, instead of finding a gimmick to attach it to. Nothing fancy.

This is my 300th post since I started Filmic in September 2008 on a whim. Before then I was posting reviews directly to message boards and on MySpace. Remember MySpace? It was kinda like Facebook, only not as good. Since then I’ve had more than 68,000 views, and I like to think some of those viewers are reading my reviews and not just doing image searches on Google; as of today, 127 of you were looking for “amy adams nude,” 45 searched for “emily mortimer nude,” and 24 wanted “freida pinto nude.” Only one man brought traffic to my blog through such a search: actor Lee Pace.

I don’t acknowledge those statistics with ridicule or derision – let he who is without Google search cast the first stone. But it’s amusing the kinds of things you find out when you post online. People find you without even meaning to. They find you in unusual ways. And my most popular reviews don’t necessarily correspond to the most popular movies. Slumdog Millionaire remains far and away my most popular post with 4,139 views, but the second most accessed has been HBO’s Taking Chance with more than 2,000. And the little-known David Gordon Green indie Snow Angels has 564 views.

Compare that to blockbusters like Toy Story 3 (39 views), Alice in Wonderland (67), and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1 (70). My guess is that the more people who are talking about a film, the fewer there are who read about it from me in particular. That’s fine. The chorus of praise for WALL-E doesn’t necessarily need any more voices, but the more people writing and reading about Dogtooth, Waltz with Bashir, and The Fall, the better.

Thanks for reading!

