Dir. Andrew Rossi
(2011, R, 91 min)

I love knowledge and thus have a great admiration for journalism, which at its best is the immune system of a free society. Its purpose it not only to pass along information but to verify it, filter it, and deliver it in its purest form. I was surprised when I read a recent opinion piece – from the New York Times, no less – questioning, and I quote, “whether and when New York Times news reporters should challenge ‘facts’ that are asserted by newsmakers they write about.” That sounds like a mechanic asking if it’s his job to check under the hood, or if he should instead hand the keys back to you and let you decide for yourself whether or not your car is safe to drive. The ditch you find yourself in will be the decision you’ve made … Read the rest of my review at Culturazzi.

